Go Back   Chemistry Help Forum > Chemistry Forums > Advanced Chemistry Forum

Advanced Chemistry Forum Organic chemistry, analytical chemistry, inorganic chemistry, physical chemistry, and biological chemistry questions go here.

Old Dec 3rd 2012, 12:12 PM   #1
mxc120

mxc120 is on a distinguished road
A Few Questions OchemII lab

I'm studying for my lab final, and am doing some practice /review problems.

1. The yield of triphenylmethanol is 30%. Give 2 reasons why the yield is low. Assume no mistake is makde, glass is dry, and oxygen side rxn is regligent. (Shows a grignard rxn).

Okay, so I put that 1. although the glass was dry, there might still be moisture in the air and 2. The 2 step process could make the yield low. If when making the grignard reagant the yield was 70 and then the other step the yield was 70 then a yield in the 30s makes sense. Is there something I'm missing?

2. Write the products of grignard reagent with water. I just have a benzene ring. Are the other products just a MgBr ion and the H ion and OH? Idk.

3. In the following rxn why do we have to use concentrated HNO3 and H2SO4? Shows Benzene w/ -c=O with -O-Ch3 also attached to the carbon reaxting with HNO3 and H2SO4 to make benezene with NO2 and same -c=O-o-ch3 attached.

I put that aromatic compounds only react with highly electrophilic compounds because the electrons of the pi system are less available because of the resonance in the ring structure. The electrophile NO2+ is electrophilic enough to add to the ring and it's made by heated concentrated sulfuric acid being added to nitric acid.

4. Write structure of the enolate formed from the following ketone. Under what conditions is an enolate generated? Shows acetophenone. I just moved the double bond from O to the C and C on the benezene and took away all the doulbe bonds in the ring? and made the O negative? For the conditions I put NaOH... it just has to be in basic conditions right?