Chemistry Help Forum  

Go Back   Chemistry Help Forum > Chemistry Forums > High School Chemistry Forum

High School Chemistry Forum Ask your high school chemistry questions here.

Old April 17th, 2013, 12:31 PM   #1
floweryheart

floweryheart is on a distinguished road
Smile Exothermic and Endothermic help?

I need some help with a question for chemistry. I'm not quite sure how to figure this out. Help is appreciated!

Identify each enthalpy change by name and classify each change as exothermic or endothermic.

1.1 mol NaCl (s) 1 mol NaCl(l)
2.C4H10 O(l) C4H10O (g)
3.H2O(g) H2O (l)
4.H2O(l) H2O (s)

A Molar heat of vaporization; endothermic
B Molar heat of condensation; exothermic
C Molar heat of solidification; exothermic
D Molar heat of fusion; endothermic
floweryheart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 17th, 2013, 07:44 PM   #2
Leah106

Leah106 is on a distinguished road
I'm a student so I can't guarantee this is right, but I would assume you should focus on the phase changes.

First you need to know the names for phase changes
solid to liquid > fusion
liquid to gas > vaporization
gas to liquid > condensation
liquid to solid > solidification

and you also need to know that a reaction which releases heat is exothermic, while a reaction that absorbs heat is endothermic.

1. You're going from solid NaCl to liquid NaCl, so this is fusion. To determine if this is exothermic or endothermic, think about the heat required to go from solid H2O to liquid H2O. You need to add heat in order to melt ice, meaning the solid absorbs heat, so it is endothermic.

2. You're going from liquid to gas, so this is vaporization. Again if you think about going from liquid H2O to gas, you would need to add heat, so this is also endothermic.

3. gas to liquid, so condensation. Think of water droplets forming on the outside of a glass of water. For a gas to return to a liquid state it needs to release heat, so this is exothermic.