Meanlife for an archaeologist

Sep 2010
I am an archaeology graduate student trying to grasp the hard science behind radiometric (specifically radiocarbon) dating. I feel I have a general grasp of the concept of a half-life. What is confusing me is the meanlife. A quote from the paper I am reading will perhaps explain my confusion: "...there are several reasons why [radiocarbon dates] differ from a true age. First, radiocarbon dates are calculated using an obsolete measurement of 14C meanlife, 8033 years, even though it is now known more accurately as 8266 years." He moves on to explain other reasons (14C content has varied over the millenia-which I understand), without explaining what a meanlife is. So far, Google has not been very helpful.

Is the half-life derived from the meanlife? If so, why don't they just keep it simple and say that the known half-life is calculated using an obsolete measurement?

FYI I do understand the difference between a radiocarbon date [statistical measurement of 14C content] and a calendar date. That's not what I'm asking.

I would appreciate any help that you hard scientists can give me!

Sep 2010
My hope is that this question will represent an interesting exercise in applied chemistry. I think the crucial thing is that I have seen this definition (from Britannica):

Meanlife: in radioactivity, average lifetime of all the nuclei of a particular unstable atomic species. This time interval may be thought of as the sum of the lifetimes of all the individual unstable nuclei in a sample, divided by the total number of unstable nuclei present. The mean life of a particular species of unstable nucleus is always 1.443 times longer than its half-life (time interval required for half the unstable nuclei to decay). Lead-209, for example, decays to bismuth-209 with a mean life of 4.69 hours and a half-life of 3.25 hours.